It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Volrath's Curse
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:09 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 1624
Volrath's Curse
Enchantment — Aura (C)
Enchant creature
Enchanted creature can't attack or block, and its activated abilities can't be activated. That creature's controller may sacrifice a permanent for that player to ignore this effect until end of turn.
: Return Volrath's Curse to its owner's hand.

My question is this: If I were to enchant my own creature with this, could I sacrifice multiple permanents to the ability in the same turn?

_________________
Compete for glory in the fifth Pro Tour: You Make the Card!
The third round is now being judged!

Q's Links
Pro Tour YMTC 5 Archive


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volrath's Curse
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:32 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2762
This is a Static Ability, which, as per 112.3d is simply "true". So being able to sacrifice a permanent to ignore the ability is something that either "is" or "isn't". Once a permanent has been sacrificed, I think it's now switched to being "on", in the sense that it is true that a creature has been sacrificed to ignore the ability. It cannot "become true" again, it just is or isn't. As such, I think you can only sacrifice one permanent to it.

As a purely permissive rules set (that is, a set that only tells you what you can do, not what you can't do), we don't have anything saying that we can pay a cost to ignore an ability multiple times. The only time we can pay a cost multiple times is when we're told we can do so, such as with activated abilities.

Anyways, that's my take on it, but this one is a tricky one.

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volrath's Curse
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:38 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 11, 2015
Posts: 8
My question is this: If I were to enchant my own creature with this, could I sacrifice multiple permanents to the ability in the same turn?

Only if you get priority in the cleanup step, after the "ignore this effect" has expired.
Quote:
115. Special Actions
115.1. Special actions are actions a player may take when they have priority that don’t use the stack.
These are not to be confused with turn-based actions and state-based actions, which the game
generates automatically. (See rule 703, “Turn-Based Actions,” and rule 704, “State-Based
Actions.”)
115.2. There are eight special actions:

115.2d Some effects from static abilities allow a player to take an action to ignore the effect from
that ability for a duration. Doing so is a special action. A player can take such an action any
time they have priority.


Ignoring the effect of that ability means ignoring the entire effect, including the special action to ignore it.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volrath's Curse
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:56 pm 
Offline
YMtC Idol Winner
User avatar

Joined: Mar 14, 2015
Posts: 1624
That makes sense. Alas — was hoping for an alternative way to bin planeswalkers besides Heart of Kiran. Thanks!

_________________
Compete for glory in the fifth Pro Tour: You Make the Card!
The third round is now being judged!

Q's Links
Pro Tour YMTC 5 Archive


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Volrath's Curse
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:05 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 823
I've always liked perilous research and abjure


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group