It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:29 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:02 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29, 2015
Posts: 151
Can Cabal Stronghold count itself if I use Navigator's Compass on it?
Does Cabal Stronghold work with Fetid Pools (or, by extension, Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth)?

_________________
Hakeem928 wrote:
Never tell a hungry person that you're yummy.

Image


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:46 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 7039
Identity: Spambot
Preferred Pronoun Set: 0, 1
Cabal Stronghold only counts basic swamps. It's not basic, even if it gets turned into a swamp, and fetid pools isn't a basic land either.

_________________
Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:48 pm 
Offline
YMtC Champ '14
YMTC Pro Tour Champion
User avatar

Joined: Jun 04, 2014
Posts: 12578
Location: Freedom
Preferred Pronoun Set: they
no, only cards with the Basic supertype (like swamp itself) count as basic swamps. having a basic land type is not enough to make a card a basic land. terminology is confusing sometimes.

:duel:

_________________
I tend to agree with Razor.

Pro Tour: YMTC: SECOND ONE IS OVER STAY TUNED FOR THIRD ONE
The BLOCK I'm currently pretending I'll finish: Fleets Of Ossia (complete!) | Wavebreak (complete!) | The Second Flood (in progress!)
Razorborne and friends teach music theory to chumps like you: 12tone


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 05, 2014
Posts: 1293
Location: Berk
Identity: Dragon
Piggybacking on this same train of thought: If I have a basic Island and I activate a Navigator's Compass to grant it the swamp land type, would Cabal Stronghold count the basic Island that has gained the swamp land type as a basic swamp?
Is the answer the same for that basic Island if I have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth in play?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29, 2015
Posts: 151
Flyheight wrote:
Piggybacking on this same train of thought: If I have a basic Island and I activate a Navigator's Compass to grant it the swamp land type, would Cabal Stronghold count the basic Island that has gained the swamp land type as a basic swamp?
Is the answer the same for that basic Island if I have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth in play?

This was going to be my next question, because the Island is already a basic land card. So, would using the compass keep it that way for Cabal?

_________________
Hakeem928 wrote:
Never tell a hungry person that you're yummy.

Image


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 11, 2015
Posts: 10
Flyheight wrote:
Piggybacking on this same train of thought: If I have a basic Island and I activate a Navigator's Compass to grant it the swamp land type, would Cabal Stronghold count the basic Island that has gained the swamp land type as a basic swamp?
Is the answer the same for that basic Island if I have an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth in play?

Basic: Its type line specifies Basic, and neither Navigator's Compass nor Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth changes this.
Quote:
205.1b Some effects change an object’s card type, supertype, or subtype but specify that the object
retains a prior card type, supertype, or subtype. In such cases, all the object’s prior card types,
supertypes, and subtypes are retained
. This rule applies to effects that use the phrase “in
addition to its types” or that state that something is “still a [type, supertype, or subtype].” Some
effects state that an object becomes an “artifact creature”; these effects also allow the object to
retain all of its prior card types and subtypes.

205.4b An object’s supertype is independent of its card type and subtype, even though some
supertypes are closely identified with specific card types. Changing an object’s card types or
subtypes won’t change its supertypes.
Changing an object’s supertypes won’t change its card
types or subtypes. When an object gains or loses a supertype, it retains any other supertypes it
had.
Example: An ability reads, “All lands are 1/1 creatures that are still lands.” If any of
the affected lands were legendary, they are still legendary.

Swamp: Navigator's Compass with Swamp chosen or Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth explicitly adds that subtype.

It's basic and it's a swamp, and that's all it takes to be considered a basic swamp.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:49 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 09, 2015
Posts: 1359
>Check If[Basic]
Yes
>Check If [Swamp]
Yes

Congrats, it's a Basic Swamp. If it isn't a Swamp it isn't a Basic Swamp, if it isn't Basic it isn't a Basic Swamp. Not sure why actual rules quoting is needed for explaining Basic Swamp means a Swamp which is Basic.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 2:59 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 690
A rule could exist which states that if you change the types of Basic card that card stops being Basic. The rules quotations are useful for showing that explicitly does not happen. It's not actually as cut-and-dried as "Well obviously if you change a Basic Island into a Swamp, it's still Basic."

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group