It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:34 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:26 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
I'm trying to figure out some rulings for several silver-bordered cards, and I came across a black-bordered scenario I can't find an discussion of. I think I've answered my own questions, but I'd like to share my thoughts.

Suppose a player in a three-player free-for-all game attacks with a band of two creatures with banding. All creatures in an attacking band must be attacking the same player or planeswalker, so at first they're all attacking one opponent. That opponent casts Portal Mage in the declare attackers step, reselecting for one of the two creatures to attack the third player.

The rules for Portal Mage mention nothing about bands. In fact, they even say the reselection can ignore attacking restrictions -- which isn't to say the band homogeniety thing is an "attacking restriction" in quite the same sense as Blazing Archon.

If this kind of surgery on bands is allowed... well, maybe there's nothing wrong. I thought there'd be a problem if multiple players blocked with banding creatures, or if multiple defending players controlled Defensive Formation, but no, in those cases each attacking creature's outgoing damage is assigned specifically by the player it's attacking. There's no ambiguity.

What do you think?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 11:21 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 12, 2015
Posts: 690
Your explanation seems clear to me. I'll check the rules carefully later, but if the answers are that unambiguous, they are correct, even if they are weird.

_________________


"Ability words are flavor text for Melvins."

"Remember, dear friends: when we announce something and you imagine it, the odds that we made exactly that thing are zero."---Kelly Digges


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:05 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 03, 2015
Posts: 44
Preferred Pronoun Set: she/her
I just noticed General Jarkeld, which makes it more clear that a blocking creature doesn't necessarily have to be controlled by its attacking creature's defending player. Combining that with Aetherplasm or Flash Foliage demonstrates that a creature can be blocked by two creatures with different controllers, so this Portal Mage+banding scenario is not the only scenario of its kind. :)


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group