It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:09 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 23, 2014
Posts: 108
I have a question on the redirection ability for Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo (his tap ability). I guess, what sources can I choose to redirect the damage? Does it work in these scenarios:

I cast Searing Spear on a Goblin Arsonist.
Case 1 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability, choosing Goblin Arsonist while Searing Spear is on the stack
Case 2 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability, choosing Goblin Arsonist while Goblin Arsonist is in the graveyard and it's damage is on the stack


My opponent uses Flickerwisp to blink his Flametongue Kavu.
Case 3 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability during the next end step, choosing Flametongue Kavu in exile while Flametongue Kavu's return to the battlefield trigger is on the stack
Case 4 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability during the next end step, choosing Flametongue Kavu after it entered the battlefield while Flametongue Kavu's ETB damage trigger is on the stack


I guess I'm just confused about the "source of your choice" text. It would seem like it is more than permanents (like I could redirect damage from spells too). Does it extend to choosing things in a graveyard or exile zone? Then if the card undergoes a zone change, is the chosen source still remembered or is it like targeting a permanent and the ability is essentially countered because there isn't a legal target anymore (what I attempted to describe as Case 1 above)?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 3622
Identity: Goblin Piker
In the situation of Searing Spear and Arsonist:
If you target Searing Spear, Opal-Eye takes 3 and your Asonist lives.
If you choose the Arsonist trigger, Opal-Eye takes 1.
If you choose Arsonist HIMSELF while spear is on the stack, Arsonist dies and the target of the Arsonist trigger takes 1 damage.

case 3- You cannot choose flametounge in exile. However, once Flametounge re-enters play, you can choose his trigger to deal damage to redirect to Opal-Eye.

The source of the damage is the trigger, not the creature that creates the Trigger. If I remember right.
Opal-Eye can redirect damage from ANYTHING that would deal damage - a spell, an ability activated by say Prodigal Pyromancer or a trigger from Flametounge Kavu.

Actually, I think I am wrong on one part - you can choose Flametounge Kavu to prevent his damage once he is in play, since he is the one dealing the damage. The important thing to remember that if a card changes zones, it stops being the card it "was," and becomes a new creature again.

_________________
Twitter: (at)MrEnglish22 if you want to reach me
My cube: http://www.cubetutor.com/viewcube/mrenglish22


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 12, 2013
Posts: 396
I have a question on the redirection ability for Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo (his tap ability). I guess, what sources can I choose to redirect the damage? Does it work in these scenarios:

I cast Searing Spear on a Goblin Arsonist.
Case 1 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability, choosing Goblin Arsonist while Searing Spear is on the stack
Case 2 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability, choosing Goblin Arsonist while Goblin Arsonist is in the graveyard and it's damage is on the stack


My opponent uses Flickerwisp to blink his Flametongue Kavu.
Case 3 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability during the next end step, choosing Flametongue Kavu in exile while Flametongue Kavu's return to the battlefield trigger is on the stack
Case 4 - Activate Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo's tap ability during the next end step, choosing Flametongue Kavu after it entered the battlefield while Flametongue Kavu's ETB damage trigger is on the stack


I guess I'm just confused about the "source of your choice" text. It would seem like it is more than permanents (like I could redirect damage from spells too). Does it extend to choosing things in a graveyard or exile zone? Then if the card undergoes a zone change, is the chosen source still remembered or is it like targeting a permanent and the ability is essentially countered because there isn't a legal target anymore (what I attempted to describe as Case 1 above)?


I asked a similar question because I wasn't sure
http://community.wizards.com/forum/rule ... ds/4075076

You can choose from any zone and zone changes don't effect the source you've chosen


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group