It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 303
Can I encode Hidden Strings on a Mistcutter Hydra?


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:29 pm 
Online
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2888
The Cipher keyword is an ability that doesn't target. Here's a quote from the Gatherer rulings:

"You choose the creature as the spell resolves. The cipher ability doesn't target that creature, although the spell with cipher may target that creature (or a different creature) because of its other abilities."

As such, any creature you control is a viable option for Cipher - up to and including creatures with protection!

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:38 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29, 2013
Posts: 753
If I'm attacking a player with (insert arbitrary large amount of zombies here) and I have a Undead Alchemist, and the defending player as a Pariah's Shield equipped to an indestructible creature, do they still mill?

_________________
Rules Advisor for MtG as of September 4, 2013

Pokemon Tabletob Adventures: Darkness Descends
Setup Zone. IC. OOC. Map.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:39 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Dec 02, 2013
Posts: 557
No, because no damage is dealt to the player.

_________________
L1 judge


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:48 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 23, 2013
Posts: 515
More explicitly: both Undead Alchemist and Pariah's Shield have replacement effects that try to replace damage dealt to your opponent. Since multiple replacement effects are trying to modify one thing, the affected player choose the order in which they are applied (in this case, since it's damage that would be dealt to your opponent, they are the affected player).

If your opponent is a reasonable person, they'll apply the replacement effect from Pariah's Shield first. Since the damage will no longer be dealt to your opponent, the replacement effect from your Alchemist no longer applies and does nothing. They won't mill anything and you won't get any zombies.

_________________
ego-sig


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:44 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 29, 2013
Posts: 753
Ok. That makes sense. Thanks

_________________
Rules Advisor for MtG as of September 4, 2013

Pokemon Tabletob Adventures: Darkness Descends
Setup Zone. IC. OOC. Map.


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group