It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:17 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Storm Cauldron
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:38 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 22, 2013
Posts: 10049
Making sure I understand this interaction right before I attempt to build a deck around it

Does this work as described?
I control Storm Cauldron and Price of Glory. If an opponent taps one or more lands for mana on my turn, as I am the active player, I decide how the Cauldron/Price triggers stack, and can put Cauldron's on the stack first, so the land will be destroyed by Price of Glory before it's returned to hand by Storm Cauldron. (Thus, when I cast Armageddon, only I can save lands by using the Cauldron to bounce them)

_________________
"Enjoy your screams, Sarpadia - they will soon be muffled beneath snow and ice."

The Coalition/Phyrexian War Game Rises Again


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:45 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Oct 09, 2013
Posts: 5899
Location: Mountain View
Preferred Pronoun Set: he/him
Same result, but for a slightly different reason. You choose how those two triggers stack because you control them, not because you're the active player. You always get to choose the order of your own triggered abilities.

Now, if abilities controlled by different players are being triggered simultaneously, first the active player puts all of his triggers on the stack in whatever order he chooses, then the nonactive player puts all of her triggers on top of the stack in whatever order she chooses.

In short, yes, your combo works.

_________________
0x10


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Q&A
PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:56 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 25, 2013
Posts: 2843
As CommanderJim said, you are the only one who puts triggers you own onto the stack. It's just that the active player always puts theirs on first. The important thing to note is that this also applies if you tap your lands on your opponent's turn. As the active player, your opponent will put on any triggers they own onto the stack first, then you'll put on yours (choosing for whether the Storm Cauldron or Price of Glory resolves first).

_________________
Quote:
"If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors." — Galef, Dakka Dakka Forums


Like this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group